• Register to Access the Free Forums and 3 Free CEUs!

To view the content for the 3 free CEUs, please sign up today.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER
  • Missing Access To A Course, Blitz or Exam? Have Technical Issues? Open a Help Desk Ticket
    Please Do Not Post in the Community About Access or Technical Issues
    CCO Business Hours for Help Desk and Coaching: Mon-Fri 9am-4pm Eastern

Resolved Toe Tendon transfer coding

Status
Not open for further replies.

CCO_Bot

Automated Robot
Staff member
Question:
I'm not very experienced with the more difficult orthopedic cases. I'm getting just unlisted for the tendon transfers and not sure about the capsulorrhaphy. Can anyone help with this one? Any help would be appreciated.

POSTOPERATIVE DIAGNOSES: Left great toe cockup deformity and third crossover toe with dislocated MTP joint.

PROCEDURE: Left extensor hallucis longus to first metatarsal tendon transfer, extensor hallucis longus to extensor hallucis brevis tendon transfer, inspection of integrity of flexor hallucis brevis and then third toe MTP joint capsulorrhaphy and extensor tendon lengthening, flexor tendon to extensor hood tendon transfer.

ANESTHESIA: General plus local.

DESCRIPTION OF PROCEDURE: The patient was taken to the operating room, general anesthetic administered, airway secured, a well-padded thigh
tourniquet was applied. The leg aseptically prepped and draped in a manner to ensure a sterile field. Timeout process was completed. Attention
turned towards the third MTP joint. Longitudinal incision made, sharp dissection taken down through skin and subcutaneous tissue. A
Z-lengthening done on the extensor tendon. Deep capsular release performed to mobilize the metatarsophalangeal joint and release its contracture.