• Register to Access the Free Forums and 3 Free CEUs!

To view the content for the 3 free CEUs, please sign up today.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER
  • Missing Access To A Course, Blitz or Exam? Have Technical Issues? Open a Help Desk Ticket
    Please Do Not Post in the Community About Access or Technical Issues
    CCO Business Hours for Help Desk and Coaching: Mon-Fri 9am-4pm Eastern

Resolved Radiologic S&I question

Status
Not open for further replies.

CCO_Bot

Automated Robot
Staff member
Question:

Danielle:

I have been taught that every time you see supervision and interpretation you tack a modifier 26 at the end of the code for professional components, is this not the case? I just watched your YouTube video about it, and I am a little confused.

I am now a coding instructor teaching what was taught to me but I would like to teach it right:)

I was asked the other day by a student if Interpretation and Report were the same as Supervision and Interpretation, I told the student no it was not the same but was unsure about the modifier if you would use the 26 modifier on interpretation and report as well.

Thanks for all your help

Answer Thread:
Laureen:

Thanks for asking Danielle!

First for those wondering where the video Danielle is referring to here is the link:

Ok so let's start with some definitions so we can understand when to append 26 or not.

Global Code = covers both technical and professional components when billed alone
TC = when appended to a global code tells the story it represents the technical piece only
26 = When appended to a global code tells the story it represents the professional piece only
Technical = overhead, use of equipment and staff/techs
Professional = interpretation and report - can be done off-site