• Register to Access the Free Forums and 3 Free CEUs!

To view the content for the 3 free CEUs, please sign up today.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER
  • Missing Access To A Course, Blitz or Exam? Have Technical Issues? Open a Help Desk Ticket
    Please Do Not Post in the Community About Access or Technical Issues
    CCO Business Hours for Help Desk and Coaching: Mon-Fri 9am-4pm Eastern

I Am Having A Time Here With Coding A Pregnancy.

Status
Not open for further replies.

CCO_Admin

Administrator
Staff member
CCO Admin asked:

Hi I am having a time here with coding a Pregnancy. Ok the pt is having Mono/Dia twins with DVT; She also has HTN; High Cholestral and is High Risk Now how many codes can I use from Chapter 15. And she is 14 and 1/2 weeks.It has been awhile since I coded a pregnancy and I am new to start with this is a practice question i found thank you

Answer:

* This is a fun one. From the start. Yes; all of these dx will contribute to her condition so you are going to code them. I may have to post this in several parts so forgive me.

Hi I am having a time here with coding a Pregnancy. Ok the pt is having Mono/Dia twins with DVT; She also has HTN; High Cholestral and is High Risk Now how many codes can I use from Chapter 15. And she is 14 and 1/2 weeks.It has been awhile since I coded a pregnancy and I am new to start with this is a practice question i found thank you.

The DVT makes everything important. HTN; and High Cholesterol will contribute to the DVT which puts the pregnancy at risk. From what you have given me so far I am looking at something like this:

O30.032 - Twin pregnancy; monochorionic/diamniotic; second trimester

O22.32 - Deep phlebothrombosis in pregnancy; second trimester

Use additionalcode to identify the deep vein thrombosis (I82.4-; I82.5-; I82.62-. I82.72-)
Use additionalcode; if applicable; for associated long-term (current) use of anticoagulants (Z79.01)

I10 - Essential (primary) hypertension